Distribution

May 3, 2006

Welp, it seems like a release is finally ready. Now what? The software distribution mechanisms have changed quite a bit since the last time I've done this. Back with Jade, there was the info-mac archive and mailing list. I think PC/Windows boxes had simtel back then.

But now we're at Web 2.0 (so I hear) and there are tons of sites that offer software downloads. There's a couple of major players like download.com. But after submitting to TuCows it said I was 4700 in the queue and that it would take an estimated 595 days to process…unless I wanted to pay to 'expedite' the process. Ohwell, minus well try download.com but I have a feeling they will want their 'expediter' fee.

Leave a Reply

